Thanks and Praises, Kesha and Big Freedia Are ‘Raising Hell’ in Righteous Video: Watch


vid must be embedded

‘We can always find the trouble, we don’t need no help.’

Kesha has served up some classic t-shirt worthy lines in the past. But the quotable in her latest single, «Raising Hell,» might be an all-time keeper. The praise-worthy pop track featuring Queen of Bounce Big Freedia dropped on Thursday morning (Oct. 24) and it features the so-Kesha refrain, «But I don’t wanna go to heaven without raising hell.»

The colorful video is a parody of a ripped-from-1987, fall-from-grace story of a fire and brimstone televangelist, with Kesha playing the role of the big-haired soul saver and Freedia providing spiritual support via the exhortation, «Drop it down low, hit it, hit the pole with it/ Drop it down low, drop it down low.» Over frantic handclaps, churchy organs and a banging beat, Kesha sings, «Hallelujah/ I’m still here, stilling bringing it to ya/ Oh, like Buddha/ Good girls know how to get hard too, ya.»

A teaser for the song promised some fire and brimstone, and Kesha brings it in the video, wearing a hot pink power suit and a face full of gaudy make-up as she fronts a gospel choir while giving thanks and praise, saving souls and soaking in her marble bathtub. «I’m all f—ed up in my Sunday best/ No one can shame me ‘cause I love this dress/ Hungover, how’d it go? Holy mess/ Doin’ my best, b—h, I’m blessed,» she sings on the pre-chorus as images of an abusive husband flash on the screen in the Luke Gilford-directed clip.

As the raising hell line swells up amid honking horns and Freedia’s urging, Kesha urges her Animals to shake what the good Lord gave ya, even as her preacher character strikes back at her abusive spouse with great vengeance and furious anger.

«Raising Hell,» co-written by Kesha with Wrabel, Sean Douglas and Stint and produced by Stint and Omega, is the first single from the singer’s upcoming album, High Road, which is due out on Jan. 10 on Kemosabe/RCA Records; the album is available for pre-order now here.

Watch the «Raising Hell» video and check out the High Road track list below.

High Road tracklist:

1) «Tonight»

2) «My Own Dance»

3) «Raising Hell» feat. Big Freedia

4) «High Road»

5) «Shadow»

6) «Honey»

7) «Cowboy Blues»

8) «Resentment» feat. Sturgill Simpson & Brian Wilson

9) «Little Bit Of Love»

10) «Birthday Suit»

11) «Kinky» feat. Ke$ha

12) «Potato Song (Cuz I Want To)»

13) «BFF» feat. Wrabel

14) «Father Daughter Dance»

15) «Chasing Thunder»

This article was originally published by: Billboard