James Bay Announces ‘Electric Light’ LP, Drops Buzz Track “Pink Lemonade”


James Bay reinvented himself on “Wild Love,” eschewing the stripped-back approach of his debut album in favor of a soulful, synth-driven sound. It looks like that was just the tip of the iceberg. The Brit announced his sophomore LP, Electric Light, today (March 7) and it represents a whole new chapter. “If I had to describe my first album visually it would probably be a flame – while this new album is about a real sonic and artistic evolution for me,” he explains. “The feeling of a 100 watt bulb expanding and brightening is what I envisioned. Electric Light came to my mind and I knew it was perfect.”

The 27-year-old also shared a buzz track called “Pink Lemonade.” With its driving guitars and rock swagger, the catchy song is something of bridge between the old and new. (It’s certainly more recognizable as a James Bay track than “Wild Love”). It’s always risky to fiddle with a winning formula, but fans seem more than willing to go along for the adventure. The album’s lead single has already racked up 10 million streams, while his North American tour is largely sold out. See the tracklist of Electric Light (due May 18) and listen to his latest tune below.

James Bay’s Electric Light tracklist:

1. Intro 2. Wasted On Each Other 3. Pink Lemonade 4. Wild Love 5. Us 6. In My Head 7. Interlude 8. Just For Tonight 9. Wanderlust 10. I Found You 11. Sugar Drunk High 12. Stand Up 13. Fade Out 14. Slide

This article was originally published by: Idolator